Tuesday, August 22nd | 30 Av 5777

Close

Be in the know!

Get our exclusive daily news briefing.

Subscribe
April 9, 2012 4:10 pm

Passover Coca-Cola Classic Not Kosher in California

avatar by Algemeiner Staff

Email a copy of "Passover Coca-Cola Classic Not Kosher in California" to a friend

Coca Cola delivery all-electric truck eStar at Washington D.C. Photo: wiki commons.

A new California law, which lists the chemical “4-methylimidazole” as a carcinogen has placed kosher for Passover Coca-Cola out of reach for most California residents hoping to buy the product in-state.

The Passover version of Coke substitutes sugar for corn syrup due to the latters status as not being kosher for the holiday.

A spokesman for the Coca-Cola company said the product will be available in California next year during Passover. The company noted California’s new state laws on toxic chemicals as the reason for this year’s failure to provide their customers with the soft drink.

According to a report from JTA, some California stores were bringing kosher for Passover Coke in from other states.

“I think it would be wonderful for the community to be able to drink a Coke and have a smile,” Jason Moss, who heads the Jewish Federation of the Greater San Gabriel and Pomona Valleys, told San Gabriel Valley Tribune.

Share this Story: Share On Facebook Share On Twitter Email This Article

Let your voice be heard!

Join the Algemeiner

Algemeiner.com