Wednesday, September 19th | 10 Tishri 5779

Subscribe
May 27, 2015 1:34 pm

Bacon Flavor Ben & Jerry’s ‘Not Gonna Happen’ Because it Wouldn’t be Kosher

avatar by Shiryn Solny

Email a copy of "Bacon Flavor Ben & Jerry’s ‘Not Gonna Happen’ Because it Wouldn’t be Kosher" to a friend

Ben & Jerry's will never add bacon to its products, according to its marketing director. Photo: Wikimedia Commons.

Famed ice cream maker Ben & Jerry’s will not be introducing a Bacon flavored product to its offerings because the company intends to keep its entire line kosher, Marketing Director Alison Gilbert told AOL’s morning show Rise recently.

“It’s kind of funny, a lot of people look for bacon in our ice cream, which is probably not gonna happen because all of our ice cream is kosher,” she said, referring to Jewish dietary restrictions that proscribe the consumption of pig meat.

Almost all Ben & Jerry’s products are certified by KOF-K Kosher Supervision, according to the company’s website.

In fact, Ben & Jerry’s’ commitment to Judaism extends even further. The company has previously released a Charoset-flavored ice cream — based on the traditional fruit and nut paste consumed during the Passover Seder. The unique product was certified kosher according to strict Passover dietary guidelines and was sold in Israel.

Share this Story: Share On Facebook Share On Twitter Email This Article

Let your voice be heard!

Join the Algemeiner

Algemeiner.com