Sunday, October 20th | 21 Tishri 5780

June 28, 2017 10:29 am

English-Speaking Immigrants to Israel Honored at Knesset Ceremony

avatar by

The 2017 Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize recipients. Photo: Shahar Azran. – Nine immigrants from English-speaking countries were honored at a Knesset ceremony on Monday for their contributions to the State of Israel.

The Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize was presented to recipients in a variety of fields by Nefesh B’Nefesh — an agency facilitating aliyah from the US, Canada and the UK — before a crowd of hundreds of people. Israel’s Regional Cooperation Minister Tzachi Hanegbi and Immigrant Absorption Minister Sofa Landver participated in the ceremony.

“Being the husband of an olah chadasha who made aliyah at 19 years old, I know how challenging but how exciting it is to be an oleh and to get adjusted to Israeli society and contribute to this great country,” said Hanegbi. “We see the headlines in the media and in the newspapers…about terrorism that never stops really. But all these issues are not as important as this event and aliyah as a whole.”

The awards were presented to professionals in science and medicine, community and nonprofit, education, Israel advocacy, arts, culture and sports, and young leadership.

Related coverage

October 20, 2019 1:27 pm

Israeli President Reuven Rivlin Honors Late Queen Mother of Romania, Who Saved Jews During the Holocaust

Israeli President Reuven Rivlin on Sunday officially marked the reburial of Queen Mother Helen of Romania, also known as Helen...

“In every professional field across the country, English-speaking olim are making incredible contributions to the State of Israel and Israeli society, with their innovation, passion and drive to advance the Jewish people,” said Rabbi Yehoshua Fass, cofounder and executive director of Nefesh B’Nefesh.

The award recipients included Prof. Benjamin W. Corn, head of the Institute of Radiotherapy at Ichilov Hospital; Beth Steinberg, director and co-Founder of Shutaf Inclusion Program; Rabbi Chaim Brovender, founder and head of; Prof. Gerald Steinberg, president of NGO Monitor; Yoram Raanan, a contemporary Jewish artist; Captain Libby Weiss, head of the Social Media Department in the IDF Spokesperson’s Unit; and Scott Neiss, founder and executive director of the Israel Lacrosse Association.

Share this Story: Share On Facebook Share On Twitter

Let your voice be heard!

Join the Algemeiner

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.